At dinner a few days ago the girls were sitting on the bench seat at the table. Bailey looked at Brooke and said, “I love you, Brooke!” followed by a little hug. Then Brooke replied, “I love you, Bailey!” She reached over to give Bailey a return hug but (just to keep the moment from being too perfect), Bailey pushed Brooke away saying, “NO! Don’t touch me!!!” Prior to the push, this was one of the sweetest interactions I’ve seen between them; the first time I’ve ever heard them spontaneously say they love each other (without being prompted). ❤

At dinner another night I’d made spaghetti and meatballs. Brooke ate hers entirely with her hands (nevermind the fact that she had a fork and possesses the manual dexterity and skills to use it effectively). After she was all good and filthy dirty, Brooke proceeds to begin climbing all over me like I’m a jungle gym. When I’ve had enough I let out an exasperated sigh, “Did you know that sometimes you’re too much, child?” Brooke nodded and said, “Mmhmm. I too much child!” Then she finally stopped climbing and rested her head in the crook of my neck, giving me a big hug. I squeezed her tight, cherishing the moment…only to have it disrupted far too soon when Brooke saw a fly on the wall and shrieked in my ear “No!!! Shoo, fly! Get out of here!!!”

Brooke has officially had her first bad dream. I believe research has suggested that dreaming takes place even in utero, but prior to having language skills we’ve never really known what the girls dream about. Well one night last week Brooke woke up around 12:45am screaming at the top of her lungs (not a regular cry; more of a frightened cry.) I got out of bed and ran into her room. As soon as I opened the door she practically jumped into my arms screaming “SPIDERS! SPIDERS!” Realizing this wasn’t going to be an easy soothe-her-back-to-sleep moment, I grabbed her tight and brought her into bed with Chris and me. I would be the first to wake the following morning and leave the bed, and Chris would later tell me that he’d been confused because he never realized Brooke was between us in bed. At one point Brooke reached out and grabbed her Daddy’s hand and Chris initially thought it was mine. Squeezing it tight he obviously discovered the tiny person in our bed. But it made me think – what a sweet moment! Brooke had a scary dream about spiders, comes to bed with mommy and daddy, and at some point in the night instinctively reaches out for her daddy’s hand. *Heart melt*

We’re still blaming things on the dog. Bailey asked for a napkin when I knew I’ve already given her one. I said “what happened to the last napkin I gave you?” She replied, “Rocky ate it!” lol. Nice try, Bailey.

