This year Halloween was pretty low-key.

One of my friends decided to get married on October 31st and set the date 6 months ago, so I knew it would be unlikely that I’d be able to take the girls trick-or-treating (they didn’t go last year, so this would have been their first year). As a result, I really didn’t feel like going all out with costumes or anything. I hadn’t planned anything at all and was starting to really worry/wonder about what I’d do for them. Then about a week before Halloween I stumbled across a box of old clothes from last year and, wouldn’t you know, their old Halloween costumes were in it.

I looked at the costumes, then at the girls. The costumes are basically shapeless bags. Even though they were size 18 months (and the girls are now 28 months old), I figured they’d still fit. I called the girls over and they tried them on and – voila! – fit like a champ! Even better, they actually know what a ladybug is this year, so they were so excited and ran around yelling “ladybug! ladybug! ladybug!!!!!!!”

IMG_4773We ended up going to a Fall Festival hosted by the Town of Marana (where we live) that had a costume contest and trick-or-treating the week before Halloween. So the girls dressed up for that and we had a ton of fun teaching them to trick-or-treat and just having a good time at the festival.

IMG_4786

Ladybugs at the petting zoo

IMG_4798

Enjoying their first s’more by the bonfire!

On actual Halloween Chris had to stay home with the girls (we tried to get a babysitter so he could go with me to the wedding, but everyone had Halloween plans). He didn’t take them out trick-of-treating, but he dressed them up and taught them to hand out candy. He sent me this photo of the girls in their costumes:

IMG_4926

When I got home they’d already changed into PJs, but I got to see them hand out candy and it was adorable! They ran to the door, both grabbed a piece of candy to give to the trick-or-treater, said “here you go!” then smiled and waved “bye bye!!” They were really proud of themselves! Sweet little girls!

Hope your Halloween was a good one, too!

2013 & 2014

IMG_0897IMG_4773

