Our family is awesome and often send us little “Valentines” packages with books for the girls, candy for the adults, etc.

This year, I wanted to return the favor and send some valentines of our own! (Plus – bonus – this was another fun thing to do with the girls, one of our 2014 goals!)

I started by checking out pinterest and finding an option that would include the girls and still be cute for the adult recipients.

I stripped the girls down to their diapers (they are MESSY!) and put them in their chairs with the trays on. I gave them each white sheets of paper and a couple squirts of finger paint – red and blue (we don’t have purple, but I helped mix the red & blue together so they had a red option and a purple option). Then, I let them go to town!

IMG_2065 IMG_2066

Bailey (left) and Brooke (right) – both shy and timid at first, unsure of what was going on.

IMG_2067IMG_2071

Then we started getting more “into” it. (Bailey above)

IMG_2076IMG_2073

And then things just got wild! (Brooke, above)

When their pages were good and sufficiently painted all over, I took them to let them dry and hosed the girls down (not really, but same idea lol)

IMG_2077

During nap-time I got to work. I took their works of art and cut out a ton of little heart shapes.

IMG_2078

Next, I cut out strips of green scrapbook paper and little vase-shaped scrapbook paper. Finally, I assembled everything onto a card like so:

IMG_2080 IMG_2081

I glued everything down onto half of the yellow cardstock. On the other half, I wrote a little Valentines message and signed our names (originally, I tried to get the girls to do little scribble marks as their “signatures,” but they weren’t having it!)

It was a fun activity for all of us! I’m not a very “crafty” person – but this kind of craft is a cinch (and thanks to Pinterest for the idea)! And the girls loved the painting and general mess-making! Fun for the whole family!

I hope you all have a great Valentine’s Day!

XOXO

The Jordan Family

