This past weekend was a busy and fun one!

My Mom came to town to visit because I was graduating(!) on Saturday and I coerced her into coming out to watch me walk across stage (very exciting for her! lol).

As you all know, it was also Mother’s Day weekend! A special treat to get to spend my first mother’s day with my kids AND my own mother, especially since I haven’t been able to spend Mother’s Day with my mom in 6 years! Way too long!!!

Friday was full of errand-running and playing with babies.

Then, first thing on Saturday morning was graduation! I had to be there at 7:00am and my Mom, Chris, and the girls came at 8:30 just in time for the ceremony to begin.

photo-7

See me? I’m the third person in the second row (I’m the blond wearing glasses)

*Warning – tangent ahead* – I’m only giving you a sneak peak right now (instead of all the photos) because I don’t want to celebrate yet. My dissertation defense is not for two full weeks and even though I walked the stage, I don’t technically “graduate” until I’ve passed my defense. I’ve really appreciated all the love and support I’ve been given and I’ve had TONS of congratulations texts, emails, FB messages, etc. I appreciate them all but, to me, celebrating before I *really* finish is akin to counting your chickens before your eggs hatch. I’m not superstitious, per se, but I don’t want to “jinx” myself, ya know? So save your “Congrats” until I pass my defense. I promise I’ll let you know!!!

That day was a bit of a blur and I can’t seem to remember many of the details.

What I do know is that after the girls’ afternoon nap, we all put on our swimsuits and headed to the Hilton hotel at Reid Park! My Mom and Brian (step dad) had generously booked us a room so Chris and I could have a FULL night out and my Mom could babysit the girls (this is the FIRST time we’ve both been away from the girls for a night since they’ve been home from the hospital). The swim was so much fun! It was the girls’ first time in a pool and they loved it! I knew if they loved it half as much as they love baths they would be in heaven, and I was right!

photo-10

me with Miss Bailey! (the red spot on her forehead is from her helmet which, yes, she’s still wearing. We took it off for the pool adventure)photo-12

Dad with Miss Brooke!photo-11The girls having a splashing war!

I’m telling you – they were in heaven!

We went up to the room to change the girls out of their wet swimsuits before taking them back to the house, and we had a little surprise waiting for us!!

photo-4

How sweet is this!?! A bottle of bubbly and some HUGE strawberries dipped in chocolate, with a big pile of freshly whipped cream!

We had to eat the strawberries immediately!

And the girls’ got their first little tastes of whipped cream. I think they liked it!

photo-3

Brooke thinking, “hmmmm….this is pretty good!”

photo-2 copy 3Bailey saying, “Hey, why’ve you been holding out on me??”

The next day was Mother’s Day and we decided to check out the Tucson Botanical Garden as a fun little Grandma-Mom(&Dad)-Baby activity. Unfortunately, I really wasn’t that impressed (it paled in comparison to all of the Botanical Gardens I’ve visited before – in Austin, Ft. Worth, and Delray Beach). But it was still nice to get out for a bit and share the day together. And the girls still seemed to enjoy it!

photo-2 copy 2 photo-2 copy 4 photo-2 copy 5photo-14photo-2

photo-1photo-13All in all, it was a very busy and very fun weekend. I was sad to see my Mom go on Monday morning (a short trip!), but was so glad we got to spend the weekend together! Such a great (first) Mother’s Day!!!

