My babies sure love each other!

IMAG3385

Photographic proof:  Little hand-holders! : )

The other morning when I tried to put the girls down for their morning nap, here’s what took place:

Brooke started off showing sleepy signs, so I got her ready to be put down. I took her into her darkened room, gently rocked her a bit, and laid her down for a nap. Then I went back to the living room to retrieve Bailey from her play mat and started to get her ready for nap time, too. I took her into her darkened room, gently rocked her a bit, and laid her down for a nap in the crib next to Brooke. Only….as soon as her head hit the mattress, she let out a blood-curdling scream that only Bailey is capable of making. Brooke, who was laying there drowsy (but not yet asleep), looked positively terrified! Her eyes got wide, she shot her arms out (the Moro/startle reflex) and she started crying. Scared little sister tears…worried about what was happening to big sister Bailey.

It turned into a whole fiasco trying to get them to calm back down and doze off, but it was also kind of precious. I love that my little girls have a built-in best friend and that they’re already so concerned about the others’ well being!

Lots of people have asked if we wished we’d had boy/girl twins so we had one of each. And the answer is yes & no. YES, because we don’t know if we’re going to have more kids. We might just be done. And both of us had wanted a boy so it’s a little sad to not have one. But NO, because I love!love!love! that the girls are little friends! I’m sure at this age they’d love each other regardless (even if one was a boy), but when the teenage years roll around, I think there’s a big difference in the relationship of boy/girl vs girl/girl twins. Boy/Girl just aren’t as close as girl/girl.

I’ve said it before, but I am BEST FRIENDS with my sister (even though it wasn’t always that way!), and I’ve always hoped to have 2 girls so they can be best friends with each other, too! If we’d had boy/girl twins, it may not have worked out that way.

IMAG3340

And who knows….maybe we’ll have another baby down the road (and maybe not!?!!?). Who knows what life has in store for us!

