Our pediatrician had warned us not to take the girls anywhere when they first got home. They’re still so tiny and working on building their immune systems so she didn’t want us taking any chances and getting sick.

After 3 solid weeks of not going anywhere, we had our first couple of outings!!

The first outing was really the biggest, in my opinion. That’s because it was my first time to take both of the girl by myself anywhere (previously we’ve only taken the girls to the pediatrician, and that was with 2 adults – never by myself). It was also my first time to use our stroller…which is large and can be confusing to use. I probably wouldn’t have done it (I was nervous!!!), but the outing was to go to a breastfeeding support group  with nothing but other mommas and babies. I figured if all Hell broke loose, there would be plenty of friendly Moms around willing to lend a helping hand. Plus, I’ve been wanting to go back ever since my first visit while I was still pregnant (remember this?). It was a great experience and I was not disappointed. It will probably become part of our usual Wednesday night routine!

Here are some pictures documenting the experience:

And as if that wasn’t enough, the very next day we had another outing! This time it was with both Chris and me and we took the girls to Costco (me pushing them in the stroller while Chris pushed the cart). It was INSANE! People were obsessed with the girls! At first it was kind of cool to be the center of attention (lots of “oohs” and “ahhs”), but by the end I was totally over it. Chris and I joked that if we ever plan on taking the girls anywhere we need to allot an extra 30 minutes just to account for all the times we’ll be stopped for people to stare at and gush over our girls! : )

Both outings could not have gone better/smoother. The girls are absolute dream babies! They are so calm and relaxed! They’re used to sleeping with lots of noise (thanks to the NICU), so they mostly just slept while we were out – completely oblivious to everything going on around them. Overall the outings were much easier than I’d imagined. I only hope this is a trend that continues into the future. We have a flight booked for all 4 of us (Chris, me, and the babies) to go back to Texas in November and I’m already anxious about how its all going to work out. We’ll see….

For now, we’ll probably stick to more “doable” outings….and will likely be incorporating walks into our daily schedule as well.

