It’s finally happened!

After 5.5 months, and after reading about it happening with people as early as 15 weeks, I’m FINALLY feeling the girls move…from the outside!!!!!

Last night I woke up at 4:00am for the obligatory middle-of-the-night bathroom trip. Immediately I realized I was feeling both girls doing acrobatics in my stomach (up to this point usually I feel one or the other, but never both at the same time). When I laid back down I draped my arm across my tummy and started feeling karate kicks and punches – on my arm (as opposed to all internally)!!!! I laid there for an entire hour soaking it all in and smiling like a big goof. Finally around 5:00am things had settled down a little and I decided I needed more sleep….and of course it took another 45 minutes to actually fall back asleep (and then I had to wake up 45 minutes after that). So worth it, though!

Here’s the progression of feelings I’ve had so far throughout pregnancy:

16th week:  Felt like little butterfly wings fluttering ever-so-slightly

18th week:  More fluttering, and occasional feelings of bubbles (like intestinal gas….but not).

20th week:  The sensation of muscle twinges or contractions (only it was not muscles….it was baby movement!)

22nd week: Real, actual kicks and punches! Woo hoo! I’ve been waiting for this! Cannot wait until they’re more often/regular and I can let Chris actually feel it! Right now they’re still very random and sporadic movements and they come-and-go quickly.

I know later on in pregnancy people say the movements are a pain (literally – they can hurt!), but right now they feel like the greatest thing ever! My arm may not leave my belly all day (I’m going to have to figure out how to type one-handed)! : )

