This past week flew by! Feels like just yesterday when I was posting my 18 week stats, but here we are! And although my belly is still groooowing, I don’t feel as bloated and large as last week (even though I’m actually bigger). Does that make sense? Maybe I’m just getting more used to my new body shape.

Here’s what the baby is up to this week:

“Your baby’s sensory development is exploding! Her brain is designating specialized areas for smell, taste, hearing, vision, and touch. Some research suggests that she may be able to hear your voice now, so don’t be shy about reading aloud, talking to her, or singing a happy tune if the mood strikes you.” (source)

At this point the little one has developed his/her own unique sleep/wake patterns and even has a “favorite sleep position.” The little bean has hair, the little buds for future teeth, and is making his/her own urine. Depending on the site I looked at, the baby is anywhere between 8.5-10.5 oz., and is roughly 6.5 inches from head to rump (not including the little leggies!) So the little guy/gal is about the size of a hoagie sandwich!!! Craziness! (Source, Source)

And here I am:

(Note: Please excuse the lack of makeup and old work-out clothes….I had just returned from a long walk with Rocky)

19 weeks Pregnancy Stats:

Weight gain: 15 lb+ (The scale was freaking me out, so I didn’t weigh myself this week)

Aversions: None

Cravings:  None. My diet has been fairly normal this week.

Things I miss:  Getting a full 8 hours of sleep at night (I’d even take 6 or 7 at this point!!!). And it sure would be nice to have a cool cocktail with the warmer Spring weather coming into season! I bought some Pina Colada mix, so I may have to make a little virgin cocktail of my own soon : )

Things I’m looking forward to:  My Mom comes to visit this week (she gets in town on Tuesday) so this is sure to be a full week of baby shenanigans! I also can’t wait for the ultrasound I’ll be having on Wednesday! Not only is it my FIRST ultrasound, but it’s also the big Gender reveal!!!! Eeeeeek!!! And I can’t wait to feel legitimate kicking! I’ve been feeling little faint movements for weeks, but thought that by now I’d feel the “bigger” stuff. When I told my midwife about my concerns, she said it’s all totally normal and not to worry – that I’d feel the big kicks within the next few weeks.

Symptoms: Had my first bout of round ligament pain (which sucks!), and the other “regular” stuff I’ve been talking about the past few weeks:  frequent urination, being winded/tired out easily, acne, and insomnia (I can fall asleep just fine, but I can’t stay asleep – I’ve been getting about 4 hour chunks of sleep at a time).

Baby Items Purchased: No new purchases. I’m sure that will change this week with my Mom in town. Also debating taking a trip up to Phoenix to visit Ikea for stuff like a crib/changing table/etc (we don’t have an IKEA in Tucson). They’re stuff is just soooo cheap! But I’m also not opposed to second-hand stuff, so we may check out some thrift stores in the area first.

Happy Sunday-Funday! Chris had to work this morning, but I’m hoping that when he gets off we can head down to the bi-annual Tucson 4th Ave Street Fair! It’s such nice weather lately, I love to be outside!

